Scraps of Life

Life As a Scrapbooking Newlywed

Call Me Ishmael (Or not, that’s cool too)

on January 5, 2013

“Far out in the uncharted backwaters of the unfashionable end of the Western Spiral arm of the Galaxy lies a small unregarded yellow sun.”

Today’s daily prompt was a little hard to narrow down. I love a lot of books so choosing my favorite to pull the first sentence from was harder than I thought it would be. I started out with To Kill a Mockingbird but since we don’t even own that book (ironic, I know) I had to Google for the opening line which brought me to a site with some of the best book openings. It led me to another favorite, one that I actually own. The fancy, gold leafed complete and unabridged version with all five books from the series in it, as a matter of fact. The More Than Complete Hitchhikers Guide by Douglas Adams, of which, the sentence above is pulled from the first book, The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy.

Full of hilarity and truth

Pulling that book off the shelf and holding it in my hands again makes me want to reread it all which I know I’ll get to eventually. It also pulls me back to when I first took it off the shelf at my parent’s house. We still had a swing set in the backyard, given to us by a neighbor when they moved, and it was where I did a lot of my reading.

Hitchhiker’s Guide is one of the funniest and truthful books ever written. It’s a fact of life. If you haven’t read it, I highly suggest you get up right now and go to the library or bookstore. Even better yet, if you have a Nook, Kindle or other E-Reader, download it and start reading it in the comfort of your pajamas.

Another thing, if you’ve seen the movie, erase it’s horrible attempt at the book from your memory. Seriously. In comparison, it’s absolutely terrible.

4 responses to “Call Me Ishmael (Or not, that’s cool too)

  1. Haven’t read the book or seen the whole movie, but Alan Rickman is in it right? So it can’t be all bad? Right? RIGHT?! ~panic~

    • Jess B says:

      Don’t panic! 😉

      Alan Rickman is the voice of the depressed robot, Marvin, so you’re right, not not all bad. I just don’t want people who have seen the movie without reading the book to discount the awesomeness of the book. I know the movies are never as good as the book but this one is just way off the mark in comparison.

  2. Excellent choice! I looove the Hitchhiker books, they’re hilarious. 😀 Saluting my towel to you!

Leave a Reply

