Scraps of Life

Life As a Scrapbooking Newlywed

Divergent – A World of Factions

on December 1, 2012

https://i2.wp.com/upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/f/f4/Divergent_(book)_by_Veronica_Roth_US_Hardcover_2011.jpgI’ve never thought I would be glad to have gone out shopping on Black Friday but after reading this, I can say with 100% certainty that I’m glad I ventured out into the madness. It allowed me to pick up Divergent by Veronica Roth for only $5, start reading it on November 24 and finish on December 1. Had that pesky thing called work not gotten in the way, it would have been finished even before today. I had a hard time putting it down for anything. Today, I even had it in a bar while two basketball games were going on, one of which I was really excited for. Still couldn’t stop reading. Then I got to read the first 21 pages of the sequel, Insurgent as a sneak peak was available in the back of the book. I must wait until Monday to continue when we pick it up then Fall 2013 when the third book comes out! It’s been a while since I’ve had to wait for a book to come out and I’m not sure how to feel! 😉

I highly recommend this book to anyone, but if you enjoyed the Hunger Games Trilogy, then I know you would enjoy this book. I loved that trilogy and I found myself even more in love with this trilogy from just the first book than the Hunger Games Trilogy.

I really felt drawn into this book from page one and Roth really kept my attention throughout. I would be on the edge of my seat waiting for something to happen and the next thing I knew, that conflict was over and another one came in it’s midst. Constantly something to look forward to, to wonder about, to go deeper into.

The world that she has made shows so many parts of the human nature, broken down into all the good parts, which as you soon find out, always has it’s flip side. You have Abnegation: The Selfless, Amity: The Peaceful, Candor: The Honest, Erudite: The Intelligent and Dauntless: The Brave. Outside of these factions, there are those that show traits for multiple factions, the Divergent. The “rebels”. They must choose a faction and try to fit in as the government sees the divergent as a threat.

Tris, whom tests divergent, chooses to transfer from being selfless, where she thought she never fit in, to being brave and learns that the Dauntless have mangled the true meaning of bravery. They’ve transformed it into something unrecognizable from the intentions of it’s founders years ago. Tris learns that to be selfless is to be brave. She falls in love in a fluid, natural way. It’s refreshing and sweet; something that you just can’t help but root for. She faces conflict after conflict. They are varied and interesting, each on different from the last.

Even though she leaves her parents and her brother leaves for Erudite, they all find themselves back together again, making huge sacrifices for each other. It’s a beautiful dynamic.

For fun, I took the faction quiz in the back of the book and I seem to belong to the Abnegation faction followed by Erudite and a little bit of Candor. Now the question comes, is that enough to make me divergent?

So, what are you waiting for? Go buy Divergent. While you’re at it, save yourself the predicament I’m in and buy them both at the same time.

3 responses to “Divergent – A World of Factions

  1. joannahinsey says:

    I loved this book! Have you read The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stievfelder (I likely spelled that wrong). That’s my favorite of late.

    • Jess B says:

      I haven’t read that, but I did just add it to my Goodreads “to read” shelf! Thank you for the recommendation and the comment! It sounds very interesting. Have you read The Hunger Games?

      • joannahinsey says:

        Of course 😉 Love them too. Particularly the first two. We may have the same taste in books – my goodreads profile name is Joanna Hinsey (I think). If you want to find me on there.

Leave a Reply

