Scraps of Life

Life As a Scrapbooking Newlywed

It’s Beginning to Look A Lot Like Christmas!

on November 29, 2012

It’s no secret that Christmas is my most favorite time of the year. When I worked in retail, I would wear either a Santa hat, elf hat or reindeer antlers every day to work starting the day after Thanksgiving up until Christmas Eve. I would always help decorate the places for Christmas and right now, I have snowflakes hanging from the ceiling above my desk at work as well as ribbons tied to the door handles. I’m still adding things, but I’ll be sure to take pictures of my work space when I’m finished.

Since we’re just starting out, a lot of the stuff we have so far are wonderful hand me downs. We’ve been blessed with loving families that shared their Christmas treasures with us. A few things are original to us and we’re still on the lookout for stockings we want but below you’ll see what we have so far.

I may or may not have a slight obsession with penguins. The two in the two left picture both sing and dance. The one with the yellow eyebrows sings a Christmas version of “Tooty Fruity” and his eyebrows move. Matt got him for me last year and my Grandma got me the other one. I love them both. The tall wooden penguin with all of the stuffed ones on the chair came from the craft fair at church this year.

The two garland creatures came from Matt’s aunt and uncle and I just think they’re adorable. Baxter was unsure of the deer at first and kept going up and sniffing him. It was pretty cute. I’m only sad I didn’t get a picture to share. The snowman in the middle came from Grandma and was made my some of the “crafty ladies” at church.

Now here is our Christmas tree, also from Matt’s aunt and uncle. I can’t wait to get more and more ornaments for our tree and other random decoration. I’ve found a few very cute things on Pinterest  (My DIY Christmas Board) I plan on making for either this year or next year as well. Maybe I’ll even start adding to the craft fair at church!


Leave a Reply

