Scraps of Life

Life As a Scrapbooking Newlywed

Compassion International

on November 20, 2012

Well, I don’t think I’ve been happier to cross something off my Day Zero Project list save our wedding day, than I am today. We sponsored our first child through Compassion International and wrote him a letter complete with three pictures. I really cannot wait for Rio (this is his nickname, not his real name). to write back. He’s 9 years old and his favorite sport is baseball, which I can’t lie, played a part in us choosing him. Not that we’d love and pray for another child any less, but to have a good starting interest to bond over sounded like a great idea. Plus, I love his smile. 

We told him about our cat, Baxter, who our favorite baseball team is and asked him why baseball was his favorite sport. It says you can expect to receive around three letters from your child a year but that you should write to them more often than that. I have a feeling I’m going to be cherishing those three letters a year. 

We got some pointers from the Compassion International blog for writing our letter and found out that today is also Universal Children’s Day. How appropriate, and we really had no idea it was today. This is just something we’ve both wanted to do for a while and we finally did. I AM PUMPED!

Leave a Reply

