Scraps of Life

Life As a Scrapbooking Newlywed

Weekend in Columbus

on August 15, 2012

Matt and I went to Columbus for the weekend, originally with tickets for the Crew game until they postponed it due to a death of a teammate. I’m proud of the team’s administration for allowing them to have the day off to attend the funeral of their teammate.

All of the depressing news out of the way, we had our hotel room booked already so we dug up some other things to do on Friday and had a blast over the weekend. I rode the bus out to Matt’s office after work and we left immediately from there. We stopped at Cracker Barrel on the way down there and used a gift card from one of my wedding showers (woot woot!). Matt even bought me a small singing Christmas penguin. 🙂

Saturday we slept in a little bit then went to the Ohio History Museum complete with an outdoor village filled with people  all in character. One of the guys was particularly into his part and once he found out we were from Kentucky, he had to ask if we had any slaves and what our view on them was. He was happy to hear we were against slavery and went on a rant about how they just never know what Kentucky is up to. As another little perk, and somewhat depressing reminder, it was also educators day which means there were several booths set up with interactive lessons. My favorite building by far was the schoolhouse. It was adorable and made me want to teach in it. See, isn’t it cute?

After we were finished with the museum, we went to the most awesome outdoor mall I’ve ever seen in my life, also known as Easton Town Center. Everything looked like a piece out of time and it was filled with people! Perhaps the best part (okay, it is the best part) was when we went into the Barnes and Noble and Matt bought me my birthday present a whole month early. My Nook! I’m kind of in love with it. He also bought me Words With Friends, Watchman, Angry Birds Rio and a subscription to TV Guide. Reading a comic book on that is really awesome with the zoom feature because it zooms in/out depending on the frame sizes and moves to the next part when you tap the right hand side.

Matt also has a new favorite store and for good reason too. They had really awesome shirts about local sports teams (including our beloved Reds) and gave us each a FREE coke in a glass bottle. Heart won over.

 

That night we found our way to the recreation center of the city for a 100 Years of Broadway show. Let me just say I am jealous of their facilities. The show was really neat and simple as well. Just five stools/music stands with singers each in a different vibrant colored shirt or dress and a pianist. I kind of felt sorry for the only guy, but they did a wonderful job. They walked us through the history of Broadway songs by talking about each era and singing several songs from each.

Something I learned from that show? I haven’t seen nearly as many musicals as I thought and I plan on fixing that ASAP.

Sunday we ate at a donut place not available around us called Tim Hortons and my blueberry bagel was delicious. I really loved how they use real plates too. Sustainability!

After that new experience, we went back to the town center for some more shopping, mostly of the window variety and hanging out. The Container Store is amazing and I’m so so glad they have one in Kenwood. Then we went to a truly unique move experience, a Dine-In with the most comfortable seats known to possibly all of existence. We saw The Campaign whilst enjoying delicious chips and queso dip, soft pretzels and cheesy bread. Yum yum. Plus they have the bajillion flavor pop machines so I enjoyed a Peach Mountain Dew as well. The Campaigns was hysterical and if you’re a fan of either Will or Zac, you must see it. Ted was still funnier, but I loved this as well.

We decided to wait until Monday to pick up Baxter before taking him to the vet for his yearly checkup. He wasn’t too happy with me that night but he turned around quickly, as I figured he would. The vet had called earlier to ask if I could get there earlier, so I did and they still didn’t see us until the original time. No big deal, just not too happy for my baby who hates being in his cage and going to the vet.

Tomorrow (Thursday) is Olympics at work and I’m super stoked. I freaking love my office. Events include putt-putt, cornhole, rubberband shooting and ring toss. Plus lots of free food.


Leave a comment