Scraps of Life

Life As a Scrapbooking Newlywed

Water Balloon Fights, Scavenger Hunts & Baseball

on August 4, 2012

So it’s been a few fun days, yet again!

Right now we’re relaxing from going out to breakfast with my mom and grandma, shopping with them and meeting my in-laws new dog, Max. He’s adorable, in case you were wondering and I love him already.

Wednesday, I don’t really remember anything particularity exciting beyond seeing a bunch of people in Reds gear walking around downtown with reusable bags I was jealous of. They were also apparently on some kind of scavenger hunt.

Thursday was one of those days that went from normal to awesome pretty quickly. It was one of my closest cousin’s 22nd birthday and she had just finished all of her college courses, so she decided to celebrate (and rightfully so). She invited Matt & I, my brother, her boyfriend, parents and her brother to a water balloon fight in pitch black darkness. It was some of the most fun I’ve had in a long time and I don’t care if that makes me a kid. I don’t really ever plan on “growing up”.

At one point, her mom had gone back in the house claiming it was so she wouldn’t get wet but filled up some more water balloons for us to play with. Her son was sneaky and kept one of those with him once we had finished the rest off and waited for her to come back out. This time, she had one balloon for each of us and on his way over, he popped the balloon right over her head and grabbed another. We decided to gang up on the birthday girl and were very successful. 🙂

Friday was one of the longest days ever at work, especially the last half hour. It was almost torture. Probably because I was looking forward to going to Goettafest and the Reds game with two of our best friends.

While waiting for Matt to get off work, I went to Barnes and Noble to kill some time which apparently involved trying to read and falling asleep in a chair. I did see one of my favorite former coworkers from Home Depot and got to talk with him for a while about the wedding and his teaching. It was a wonderful surprise!

At Goettafest, I tried goetta macaroni and cheese while Matt got a goetta burrito and devoured it in about 2 seconds. Okay, maybe that’s an over exaggeration but it was pretty quick. I chose to savor mine…or I just eat slow. Your choice. Our friends enjoyed a goettaway (3-way with goetta) and some goetta conies. While in line for Matt’s burrito, we ran into even more friends of ours, one of which is the reigning champion for the goetta coney eating contest. We’re going to cheer him on from afar tomorrow as we’ll be at the Reds game…again.

Reds game was nothing short of amazing. It was a sell out crowd vastly made up of screaming Reds fans having an absolutely wonderful time cheering on their first place, best record in baseball, team. The environment was full of inexplicable excitement! We won, got to see Marty’s head shaved and saw the best fireworks show we’ll probably ever witness.

Marty also managed to make me cry because as soon as all of his hair was gone, he unbuttoned his Reds jersey to reveal a blue shirt with yellow lettering that said “I’m still me”. Then he started talking about this organization and the children with cancer and blood disease that it supports while walking up to two of those children and giving them a hug and kiss on the forehead. I was gone. He told the story of how those children reacted when they heard Marty was going to shave his head. One of them said something along the lines of “He’ll be just like us.” Lost it again.

Oh, and the fans alone raised the $20,000 for the Reds community fund for him to get this done on the field. With corporate donations, the total soared to $50,000. I love this team and everyone involved with it.

Leave a Reply

