Scraps of Life

Life As a Scrapbooking Newlywed

Month of Marriage, Hunger Games & Solitude

on July 11, 2012

Monday was an awesome day merely because Matt and I had been married a whole month on that day. We celebrated by opening up a bottle of champagne leftover from our wedding and downing the entire thing. It’s hard to believe I’ve been married to my best friend for that long already. It’ll only go faster from here is what I’ve heard! 

Last night H and I went to see Hunger Games for the second time with my cousin and her boyfriend. She had just finished the books, rereading the first actually, and wanted to see the movie for the first time so we all went down to the cheap night at the dollar saver cinemas for it. Yup, there’s a cheap night even at the cheapies and it’s the second time we’ve taken advantage of it in the past two months. It was a great night.

Prior to the movie we were at her parent’s house for dinner. My aunt made chili spaghetti and it was delicious. Something I’ve never seen go with that meal before was peanut butter and jelly sandwiches. Very interesting. 

Today was the first day of this long week where I’m completely alone in my row at work. My two partners in crime are on their house trip with “the group” so things are a heck of lot quieter. I did treat myself to Graeter’s ice cream today and eat lunch on the square again. I was hoping for some choirs or bands from the World Choir Games but I got treated to the Corporate Olympics instead and was majorly disappointed. It would have been entertaining at least if I had gotten to watch but I had to sit too far away.

Oh well, I read 70 pages of Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows today, part of it at lunch. I really hate myself for being “too cool” to read Harry Potter when it was actually out. These books are amazing. 

Tonight was the first actual recipe meal I made Matt since we got married and it turned out amazing. Just some Chicken Corkscrew Pasta that I made super colorful by buying the multi-colored noodles. Just in case you’re wondering, it tasted great too. 😉 Enough leftovers for each of us for lunch tomorrow and Matt had the foresight enough to pack it in two different containers. I think I’ll keep him. 

Tomorrow I’m looking forward to going out to eat with my in-laws for my brother-in-laws birthday. We’re going to a local pizza place that went from a small hole in the wall to renting out an old Blockbuster space. I’ve heard it’s really good plus I’ll get to add another new restaurant to my 10 new restaurant list (Day Zero Project).

 

2 responses to “Month of Marriage, Hunger Games & Solitude

  1. Zen says:

    A lot of people who feel too cool to read the HP books ultimately love it. It’s such an awesome series. And married life seems to be treating you well! Congrats on your one month anniversary! =D

    • Thank you!

      It took my H’s traditional Harry Potter gift to his brother to get me into them. We took his brother to see the last movie for his birthday last year but we watched all of the others leading up to it so I wouldn’t be annoying them with tons of questions. The first thing I said after the last movie was “I must read these books”.

Leave a Reply

