Scraps of Life

Life As a Scrapbooking Newlywed

Daily Prompt: Buffalo Nickel

on February 24, 2013

I didn’t dig through my couch cushions or my purse but I went to the change bowl we have on the counter, reached in and grabbed a Tennessee quarter from 2002. Now on to the rest of the prompt. What was I doing that year?

I turned 16 that year but I didn’t get my license like most 16 year olds. I also started my job at Thriftway, a grocery chain that’s been closed in this area since 2004, pushing carts and bagging groceries. It’s also where I experienced one of the worst bathroom cleaning stories of all time. I will spare you the details.

It’s also the year that I doubled up in math so that I would be able to take AP Calculus my Senior year. I took Advanced Geometry and Algebra II. On Crazy Hat Day, a Senior football player in my Algebra II class didn’t wear one but still wanted to be in the picture so he took my folder and wore it on his head.

It was the first year I wasn’t in band since the sixth grade because I chose the path of the Commonwealth Diploma and my advanced classes didn’t line up correctly for me to take band.

Dave Thomas, the founder of Wendy’s died that year, and it also gave me a personal scare. We had someone in our grade nicknamed “The Wendy’s Guy”. He also happened to be in my first period Algebra II class yet wasn’t there when someone came in and informed a group of us that The Wendy’s Guy had passed. I thought it was the one I knew personally, not the actual founder of Wendy’s.

Isn’t it funny what we remember?

5 responses to “Daily Prompt: Buffalo Nickel

  1. [...] Daily Prompt: Buffalo Nickel | Scraps of Life [...]

  2. [...] Daily Prompt: Buffalo Nickel | Scraps of Life [...]

  3. [...] Daily Prompt: Buffalo Nickel | Scraps of Life [...]

  4. [...] old currency, that is) | the importance of being serbian 35. Buffalo Nickel | Ramblin’ On 36. Daily Prompt: Buffalo Nickel | Scraps of Life 37. Hands: Heads or Tails? | Wiley’s Wisdom 38. Daily Prompt: Buffalo Nickel | Living [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

